Home is Where my Heart Lives 

I’m so glad I never took you home.To the streets I grew up on.

To the coffee shop with the pigs hanging from the ceiling. 

To the sidewalks where I’d race neighborhood kids on razor scooters. 

To the park where my best friend and I carved our names into trees.

To the strawberry fields I’d get lost in on purpose. 

To the little carnival that came to town every July. 

Im so glad you never got to see the way they light up my little town on Christmas. 

I’m so glad I never took you home. 

You will never get to see the way the flowers bloom there. 

You’ve tainted so much.

But you never touched my home. 

Those streets belong solely to me.

Leave a Reply

