Moment

I’m sitting in a car repair shop’s waiting room. There are two old men that can’t seem to get far enough away from each other. The room is small which makes this difficult. I try not to laugh. I can’t believe every moment in my life has led to this.

No one says anything. There’s a table in the corner with coffee brewing. It fills the room with the smell. There are little foam cups for people to pour coffee into, no one does. I have to hide the smile growing on my face. I can’t believe every moment in my life has led to this.

The man to my right turns his entire body sideways, to avoid the gaze of the man to my left. I watch them both out of the corners of my eyes. Next to me is a fake table top tree decorated with tiny red ornaments. The entrance to the waiting room is lined with blue tinsel. I let out a small chuckle. The men pretend not to hear. I can’t believe every moment in my life has led to this. 

Not one of us has made eye contact the entire time. We are all trying our best to pretend we’re the only ones in the room. I can’t help it any longer, I burst out laughing. Yet still neither will look in my direction. They must think I’m insane. All I can think is how every moment in my life has led to this.

And I just can’t stop the laughter. 

Leave a Reply

