Need is a Strong Word

Waking up next to you is a thing of beauty, but I don’t need something beautiful in my bed. I can walk outside to the sun rising and be just as content. 

Brushing my teeth next to you always makes me smile. But so does having the sink all to myself. 

Drinking coffee with you is entertaining, but so is a good book. 

Going to the movies with you is so much fun, but so is going without having to listen to your commentary throughout the entire show. 

I do want you by my side, but I am complete with or without you. You are not the air I breathe or the water that nourishes my body. You are very much wanted, but you will never be a necessity. 

One thought on “Need is a Strong Word

Leave a Reply

