To him 

He told me I needed help. He said he’d go with me to see a therapist. He said he’d answer all their questions for me. I wanted to ask him what the point of that would be. 

Then I realized, he didn’t care if I got better. He wasn’t saying these things out of love. He wanted this for himself. He wanted me to be fixed so I could be used up by him. 

He didn’t want me to heal and grow. He wanted me to be manageable. He wanted me to greet his family and friends with a smile, even if it never reached my eyes. He just wanted me to be his. 

But I’ll never be his. I’ll never be anyone’s. I have always been my own. I will never be yours, and you will never touch me again. 

I have always been my own. 

Leave a Reply

