Traffic Light

I was on what seemed to be the world’s smallest board walk. It consisted of a creaky wooden ramp that lead up to the bench where I was sitting, and that was all.  The ocean was roaring to my right, and on the left, across the street was a traffic light. It seemed to illuminate the entire world against the darkness of night. Every time the light changed it reflected onto the boardwalk.  Green, yellow, red. Green, yellow, red. The ocean angrily crashed against the shore. Green, yellow, red. Green, yellow, red. I stood up, and began to walk down the wooden ramp. Green, yellow, red. I stopped in the middle of the ramp to look up at the night sky. So often the stars go unnoticed. Green, yellow, red. Green, yellow, red. The ocean breeze made it difficult, the cold air bit at my face and arms. Green, yellow, red. Green, yellow, red. But there I stood taking in the moment. It’s all in the details. Green, yellow, red.

Leave a Reply

